X-Wing Series TripleHead Hack Widescreen Resolution

Need help with hardware? Game doesn't run? System wont boot? We might be able to help!

Moderators: Darksaber, Forceflow, decoy

Post Reply

X-Wing Series TripleHead Hack Widescreen Resolution

Coffeesoft
Cadet 4th Class
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2012 1:28 am

Post by Coffeesoft » Sun May 05, 2013 12:00 pm

Logo_Small2.jpg
X-Wing Series TripleHead Hack
-----------------------------------------------


A long time ago...


I want to share the X-Wing Series TripleHead hack, with this hack you can enjoy with 3 screens all the X-wing series games running through the X-Wing Alliance Game Engine.

I´m not trying to distribute illegal software, i suppose you have the original X-Wing Alliance game like
many people in this forum, if there are any problem with this topic, please tell me.

This hack is ready to use with AMD-ATI Eyefinity, NVIDIA Surround, Matrox TripleHead2Go or any card that supports
3 screens in Span Mode, and of course, the game.

SOFTTH is not supported, and the resolution maximum on each screen is 640x480, i know is a low res but the game
doesn´t accepts more than 2048x1536, i think enough for a 90´s game :)

The hack is applied on 640x480, option 0, so there are no problems with POV.
Patch for distorted fonts is needed, you can download as well.
I´m including the instructions to hack your own EXE file

Tested on Windows 7 32 Bits, but i think it will run on any computer that can load the game.


- This hack is based on the work of other people, so credits and thanks for the owners...


NOTES :

- Please do not change the resolution inside the game or the hack will be disable.
- Please don´t use a NO-CD patch, ResHack can be loosed
- In Game Menu is displayed on 1 screen only, wait to be launched on Hangar to see the 3 screens working.


Here the instructions to apply the TripleHead hack for your custom X-Wing Alliance game and also
some links to download...

3x 640x480 ( 1920x480 )

- Make a Backup of "XWINGALLIANCE.exe" and "config.cfg" for security reasons
- Run Be.HexEditor
- Open XWINGALLIANCE.EXE
- Go to Find, in Hex Mode, look for 80 02 00 00 b9 e0 01
- Replace 80 02 by 80 07
- Save and exit
- Open the config.cfg file located on the game folder with a text editor
- Make sure 640x480 is selected looking at "screenres1 0" and "screenres2 0" if not, change it
- Save and exit

- Run the game !

Thanks to BooTx and ERADEEJAY for the original hack


The link with the instructions...

http://www.mediafire.com/?dfaa4qbdamg4chc

Patch for the fonts issue...

http://www.mediafire.com/?65k5psv6m5yu9zd

In order to hack the exe file you will need this program....

http://sourceforge.net/projects/hexbox/

The game needs a Joystick, i recommend Vjoy emulator for those people that doesn´t has Joystick and want to
play with the keyboard.

http://headsoft.com.au/index.php?category=vjoy

Step1.jpg
Step2.jpg

May the force be with you ....
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by Coffeesoft on Sun May 05, 2013 9:08 pm, edited 22 times in total.

User avatar
Darksaber

Fleet Admiral (Administrator)
Posts: 10319
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2000 12:01 am
Contact:

Post by Darksaber » Sun May 05, 2013 12:46 pm

Thought this would be better as a "Sticky" :)
“You can please some of the people all of the time, you can please all of the people some of the time, but you can’t please all of the people all of the time”.”
- John Lydgate

Good Things Come To Those Who Wait....
Darksaber's X-Wing Station

Coffeesoft
Cadet 4th Class
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2012 1:28 am

Post by Coffeesoft » Sun May 05, 2013 12:52 pm

You mean standalone versions ?

User avatar
Darksaber

Fleet Admiral (Administrator)
Posts: 10319
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2000 12:01 am
Contact:

Post by Darksaber » Sun May 05, 2013 1:59 pm

Coffeesoft wrote:You mean standalone versions ?
Huh????? Don't know what your on about,

I've just made your thread a "Sticky" meaning it will remain at the top of the page instead of getting lost with the other threads

From the content I thought it might be worth while keeping, perhaps I was wrong???
“You can please some of the people all of the time, you can please all of the people some of the time, but you can’t please all of the people all of the time”.”
- John Lydgate

Good Things Come To Those Who Wait....
Darksaber's X-Wing Station

User avatar
Darksaber

Fleet Admiral (Administrator)
Posts: 10319
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2000 12:01 am
Contact:

Post by Darksaber » Sun May 05, 2013 2:03 pm

What are you actually uploading?

I hope your not uploading the full game as we don't allow that on here!
“You can please some of the people all of the time, you can please all of the people some of the time, but you can’t please all of the people all of the time”.”
- John Lydgate

Good Things Come To Those Who Wait....
Darksaber's X-Wing Station

Coffeesoft
Cadet 4th Class
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2012 1:28 am

Post by Coffeesoft » Sun May 05, 2013 2:05 pm

Sorry, i don´t understood what means Sticky before, is the reason why i ask you

The exe file is possible to share ?

User avatar
Darksaber

Fleet Admiral (Administrator)
Posts: 10319
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2000 12:01 am
Contact:

Post by Darksaber » Sun May 05, 2013 2:10 pm

It needs to be some sort of patch that will only hack those parts needed for your triple screen to work or instructions on how the user can hack the exe themselves.

Not all users will have the same game configuration so uploading the exe will not help either!
“You can please some of the people all of the time, you can please all of the people some of the time, but you can’t please all of the people all of the time”.”
- John Lydgate

Good Things Come To Those Who Wait....
Darksaber's X-Wing Station

Coffeesoft
Cadet 4th Class
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2012 1:28 am

Post by Coffeesoft » Sun May 05, 2013 2:14 pm

Ok, edited, now i´m sharing only the instructions and anyone can do it.

Sorry :)

User avatar
Darksaber

Fleet Admiral (Administrator)
Posts: 10319
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2000 12:01 am
Contact:

Post by Darksaber » Sun May 05, 2013 2:18 pm

That's ok, and thank you :D

It's just a bit frowned upon to upload the complete game, Yes I know it's an old game but we like to keep within the law so to speak :D
“You can please some of the people all of the time, you can please all of the people some of the time, but you can’t please all of the people all of the time”.”
- John Lydgate

Good Things Come To Those Who Wait....
Darksaber's X-Wing Station

Coffeesoft
Cadet 4th Class
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2012 1:28 am

Post by Coffeesoft » Sun May 05, 2013 2:27 pm

Yes , next time i must read the FAQ before post something like that, is there for help :)

Thanks

Coffeesoft
Cadet 4th Class
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2012 1:28 am

Post by Coffeesoft » Sun May 05, 2013 3:12 pm

XWing_Alliance_Upgrade.jpg
XWing_Redux.jpg
TFTC.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by Coffeesoft on Sun May 05, 2013 3:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Coffeesoft
Cadet 4th Class
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2012 1:28 am

Post by Coffeesoft » Sun May 05, 2013 3:34 pm

Roots.jpg
Porkins.jpg
Ashgard.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Reimar
Cadet 1st Class
Posts: 232
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 11:45 am

Post by Reimar » Sat May 11, 2013 6:54 pm

Uh, but this is just the normal resolution hack that can also be done with xwahacker? No need to use a hex editor for that.
In addition xwahacker will automatically adjust the FOV (and you can specify it manually), so no need to stay with *x480 as far as I can tell.
I admit that feature is less tested though.

Reimar
Cadet 1st Class
Posts: 232
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 11:45 am

Post by Reimar » Sun May 12, 2013 6:53 am

I tested with xwahacker, it works indeed fine for enabling multiscreen mode, just set the resolution to something supported.
I also looked into the 2048 limitation, it seems like it is creation of some D3D object that fails.
My suspicion is that back then the maximum texture size was 2048x2048, so possibly the drivers still (incorrectly) fail if trying to create one larger than that.

Reimar
Cadet 1st Class
Posts: 232
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 11:45 am

Post by Reimar » Sun May 12, 2013 8:04 am

I am afraid my suspicion is correct, under Linux with Wine I can start XWA just fine at 3200x1080, unfortunately due to an ancient bug they refuse to fix you can't actually start from the hangar (key inputs are not accepted), so only multiplayer/simulator play is possible.
So crappy drivers strike again, while the game itself seems to be able to handle almost any resolution...

Coffeesoft
Cadet 4th Class
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2012 1:28 am

Post by Coffeesoft » Mon May 13, 2013 4:01 pm

Whuahu, 3200x1080, that it´s good :)

In any case, the hack is not difficult to apply, and also i don´t find any info about 3 monitors on the web.
I know xwahacker but i never test it because finally i´m using this way.

Many thanks.

Reimar
Cadet 1st Class
Posts: 232
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 11:45 am

Post by Reimar » Wed Jun 05, 2013 2:55 am

Coffeesoft wrote: I know xwahacker but i never test it because finally i´m using this way.
That's fine, I just thought I should mention that there isn't really anything special involved for getting multiple monitors to work (for those people who manage to get it to work). Because some people did have trouble and wondered if any special "magic" was involved.
And that there's a solution for those who don't want to use a hex editor.
Also as you mention yourself your solution doesn't allow for adjusting the field of view, and the changes needed to fix that are a bit more complex that what one would like to do by hand I believe (it's also just replacing some numbers at the right location, but involves some trigonometric functions). So if you ever need that you might reconsider editing the file by hand :D

Coffeesoft
Cadet 4th Class
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2012 1:28 am

Post by Coffeesoft » Tue Jul 09, 2013 7:35 pm

Hello !!

One guy send me a email via youtube, he is using a better method, just running a software called "D3DWindower".
The game will work in window mode but it has more resolution.

Was not tested by me, here the video.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mxY1jQ1kuC4

FBK
Cadet 3rd Class
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat May 18, 2013 7:05 am

Post by FBK » Wed Jul 10, 2013 8:28 am

In the link bellow you can download a manual that explain how to play xwa in 3 or more monitors.
http://escuadronloresdelsith.org/index. ... ;attach=89

FBK
Cadet 3rd Class
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat May 18, 2013 7:05 am

Post by FBK » Tue Jan 21, 2014 9:28 pm

I have uploaded a video explaining how to configure your PC for playing XWA in window mode and using 3 monitors.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZjJHTatfFeA

Jeraxel
Recruit
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2015 11:27 pm

Post by Jeraxel » Sun Mar 22, 2015 11:48 pm

Is there any way to either edit the menu graphics, or set them at a different resolution so we end up with something like this:
XWAFixedMenusm.png
Instead of this:
XWAMenu2sm.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

JeremyaFr
Lieutenant Commander
XWAU Member
Posts: 1607
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 5:52 pm
Contact:

Post by JeremyaFr » Mon Mar 23, 2015 12:16 am

Hello,

Check your XWA directory.

In DDraw.cfg and TGSmush.cfg, there is an option to preserve the aspect ratio or to stretch the display.

In DDraw.cfg:

Code: Select all

; ddraw.cfg
; config file for ddraw.dll

; PreserveAspectRatio = 0 (no) or 1 (yes)
; When set to 0, the display will be stretched.
; When set to 1, the aspect ratio will be preserved.
PreserveAspectRatio = 1
In TGSmush.cfg:

Code: Select all

; TGSmush.cfg
; config file for TGSmush.dll

; PreserveAspectRatio = 0 (no) or 1 (yes)
; When set to 0, the display will be stretched.
; When set to 1, the aspect ratio will be preserved.
PreserveAspectRatio = 1

Jeraxel
Recruit
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2015 11:27 pm

Post by Jeraxel » Sat Apr 18, 2015 6:23 am

JeremyaFr wrote:Hello,
In DDraw.cfg and TGSmush.cfg, there is an option to preserve the aspect ratio or to stretch the display.
Sorry for the late response. Your suggestion fixed the menus like a champ, but now the game screen is only filling about half of each of the side monitors. Any way to make it be full on the 3 screens in flight?

Post Reply