Can individual OPT downloads or Super Backdrop be used with a Windows XP install?

Need help with hardware? Game doesn't run? System wont boot? We might be able to help!

Moderators: Darksaber, Forceflow, decoy

Post Reply

Can individual OPT downloads or Super Backdrop be used with a Windows XP install?

User avatar
Camerad
Cadet 4th Class
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Dec 25, 2013 12:07 pm

Post by Camerad » Sun Jul 21, 2019 12:29 am

Hello. I read what it says about Windows XP not meeting the system requirements for XWAUCP v1.6 because it doesn't do DirectX 11. Does that also mean current versions of OPTs (or ship models, etc. if OPT is not really the correct term) cannot be downloaded individually and used with X-Wing Alliance v1.0 installed on Windows XP? Is it like that with TDM's Super Backdrop too? That's cool how you guys are even figuring out how to soften the edges of galaxies and nebulae.

The reason I asked is because even though I have X-Wing Alliance installed on Windows 7, a long time ago I wanted to make gameplay videos of X-Wing Alliance. I only did one video, but I want to try to resume doing it and make the rest of the videos this year. I was using Windows XP for that because the videos are supposed to look cinematic using the film room instead of like let's play videos, and I read here about the Nvidia graphics card that would not draw the target box. So I purchased that graphics card to make the videos with. That glitch, or whatever, was fixed before the oldest drivers for Windows 7 were published.

Do you know if there is some other way to switch off the target box graphic and still use the targeting system?

Thank you for reading this. Sorry if I put in the wrong place.

If you would like to watch it, here is the one video I made a long time ago that I'm going to try to figure out how I made and make more like it. I can't really remember much about what I was doing back then. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ku8A8fHcmNg
ASUS P8Z77-V PRO LGA 1155 Intel Z77, i5-3570K Quad-Core CPU, CORSAIR 650W PSU, dual boot: WinXp Pro 32-bit / Win7 Ultimate 64-bit, 32GB RAM, NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GTS

User avatar
keiranhalcyon7
Ensign
Posts: 276
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2018 6:41 am

Post by keiranhalcyon7 » Sun Jul 21, 2019 3:12 am

I'm sure there's a way to shut off the target box that doesn't involve obsolete graphics cards!

JeremyaFr
Lieutenant Commander
XWAU Member
Posts: 1611
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 5:52 pm
Contact:

Post by JeremyaFr » Sun Jul 21, 2019 5:51 pm

Hello,

The target reticule is defined in "hud.dat". You can remove it from this file.

To disable the targeting box, you can apply this patch:

Code: Select all

At offset 102E30, replace 83EC08 with C39090.

Justagai
Cadet 1st Class
Posts: 206
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2014 10:59 pm

Post by Justagai » Sun Jul 21, 2019 10:51 pm

JeremyaFr wrote:
Sun Jul 21, 2019 5:51 pm
Hello,

The target reticule is defined in "hud.dat". You can remove it from this file.

To disable the targeting box, you can apply this patch:

Code: Select all

At offset 102E30, replace 83EC08 with C39090.
I have just created a hook that toggles the target box on/off. I'm not sure if you are in the middle of creating one and I'll hold off in the meantime until you confirm.

User avatar
keiranhalcyon7
Ensign
Posts: 276
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2018 6:41 am

Post by keiranhalcyon7 » Sun Jul 21, 2019 11:57 pm

If it's just an offset, xwapatcher should be sufficient, no?

Justagai
Cadet 1st Class
Posts: 206
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2014 10:59 pm

Post by Justagai » Mon Jul 22, 2019 12:23 am

I imagine some people would want to have a toggle hook for easier access.

User avatar
keiranhalcyon7
Ensign
Posts: 276
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2018 6:41 am

Post by keiranhalcyon7 » Mon Jul 22, 2019 12:29 am

Oh, so you're binding it to a key?

Justagai
Cadet 1st Class
Posts: 206
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2014 10:59 pm

Post by Justagai » Mon Jul 22, 2019 12:35 am

Yes, pressing CTRL+T would turn it on/off.

User avatar
Driftwood
Lieutenant Commander
XWAU Member
Posts: 1713
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2003 11:01 pm
Contact:

Post by Driftwood » Mon Jul 22, 2019 3:02 am

Justagai wrote:
Mon Jul 22, 2019 12:35 am
Yes, pressing CTRL+T would turn it on/off.
Neat.

User avatar
Camerad
Cadet 4th Class
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Dec 25, 2013 12:07 pm

Post by Camerad » Mon Jul 22, 2019 4:25 am

Hello. Thank you all for the replies. Sorry about typing TDM instead of DTM in my previous post.
ASUS P8Z77-V PRO LGA 1155 Intel Z77, i5-3570K Quad-Core CPU, CORSAIR 650W PSU, dual boot: WinXp Pro 32-bit / Win7 Ultimate 64-bit, 32GB RAM, NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GTS

JeremyaFr
Lieutenant Commander
XWAU Member
Posts: 1611
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 5:52 pm
Contact:

Post by JeremyaFr » Mon Jul 22, 2019 5:14 am

Justagai wrote:
Sun Jul 21, 2019 10:51 pm
I have just created a hook that toggles the target box on/off. I'm not sure if you are in the middle of creating one and I'll hold off in the meantime until you confirm.
No I'm not. Go ahead.

Bman
Lieutenant JG
Posts: 704
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2004 11:01 pm

Post by Bman » Tue Jul 23, 2019 12:45 am

Justagai, is there way to also include the toggle ability to remove the friendly and enemy "white/yellow boxes" that surround the distant craft in skirmish mode? I don't recall if regular single missions have same issue too. It would make the game a lot more challenging and more realistic. Maybe keep the actual "targeted" craft i.e. "T" key or "R" with the yellow frame as an optional separate toggle too. Just an idea. The above patch is great for starts, the reticule? Haven't tested yet. :-)
W-I-P: ISD-II, XQ-1 Platform1, (Imp) Escort Carrier, Misc, & TFTC.

Justagai
Cadet 1st Class
Posts: 206
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2014 10:59 pm

Post by Justagai » Wed Jul 24, 2019 1:32 am

I have released the target box toggle hook. viewtopic.php?p=159971#p159971
Bman wrote:
Tue Jul 23, 2019 12:45 am
Justagai, is there way to also include the toggle ability to remove the friendly and enemy "white/yellow boxes" that surround the distant craft in skirmish mode? I don't recall if regular single missions have same issue too. It would make the game a lot more challenging and more realistic. Maybe keep the actual "targeted" craft i.e. "T" key or "R" with the yellow frame as an optional separate toggle too. Just an idea. The above patch is great for starts, the reticule? Haven't tested yet. :-)
The idea you mentioned was implemented a long time ago with the Multiplayer Tour Hook. If you are using that hook and the white boxes remain in Skirmish then something went wrong.

EDIT: Re read your message, I didn't think a toggle would be in demand as it felt better with the white boxes removed completely. I might implement something like that in the future.

Bman
Lieutenant JG
Posts: 704
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2004 11:01 pm

Post by Bman » Wed Jul 24, 2019 11:57 pm

Downloaded both files. Thanks so much!
W-I-P: ISD-II, XQ-1 Platform1, (Imp) Escort Carrier, Misc, & TFTC.

Post Reply