joystick hook

A Forum dedicated to the Suggestion, Creation and Editing of XWA Dynamic Link Library Files

Moderator: JeremyaFr

Re: joystick hook

User avatar
JeremyaFr
XWAU Member
Posts: 3918
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 5:52 pm
Contact:

Post by JeremyaFr » Sun Sep 20, 2020 2:05 pm

WIP

Hello,
Here is a fix.

EDIT: link removed

User avatar
Ace Antilles
Admiral (Moderator)
Posts: 7824
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2000 12:01 am
Contact:

Post by Ace Antilles » Sun Sep 20, 2020 2:39 pm

JeremyaFr wrote:
Sun Sep 20, 2020 2:05 pm
WIP
Hello,
Here is a fix.
Thanks Jeremy that seems to have worked :)
Chief XWAU Team annoying nitpicker.
Ace Antilles - The X-Wing Outpost
Image

User avatar
JeremyaFr
XWAU Member
Posts: 3918
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 5:52 pm
Contact:

Post by JeremyaFr » Sun Sep 27, 2020 12:36 pm

WIP

Hello,
I've fixed a bug when the joystick is not connected.

EDIT: link removed

sobeach
Cadet 4th Class
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Oct 10, 2020 10:57 pm

Post by sobeach » Sun Oct 11, 2020 7:36 pm

I am about to buy the game from GOG and have reviewed a number of posts on this forum covering many of my questions, such as Trackir usage.
However, I am unclear as to the status of the joystick hook. I use my mouse and my Thrustmaster Warthog throttle and joystick as well as a number of TM MFD buttons (essentially a button box) and a CH rudder pedal system. I know that old games generally recognize only one controller so my questions are:

1. Can the game, after patching, use multiple controllers? Will this include the TM MFDs?

2. If not, I saw that Vjoy may be an answer. Is that correct?

3. Anything else I should know about controller issues?

User avatar
JeremyaFr
XWAU Member
Posts: 3918
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 5:52 pm
Contact:

Post by JeremyaFr » Tue Oct 13, 2020 12:53 pm

Hello,
sobeach wrote:
Sun Oct 11, 2020 7:36 pm
1. Can the game, after patching, use multiple controllers? Will this include the TM MFDs?
The game can supports multiple controllers. You can define which controller is used for the main axis (X and Y), which controller is used for throttle, which axis of the throttle controller is used for throttle. Buttons can be used from different controllers at the same time.
sobeach wrote:
Sun Oct 11, 2020 7:36 pm
2. If not, I saw that Vjoy may be an answer. Is that correct?
Yes

User avatar
Rookie_One1
Rebel Alliance
Posts: 1656
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2004 12:01 am

Post by Rookie_One1 » Wed Oct 14, 2020 5:01 pm

There is one thing missing : Controller Axis for rudder pedals :D
Rookie One, is that you?? - Ru Merleen, Rebel Spy at Imdaar Alpha
Current Holder of the Frying Pan of Death

sobeach
Cadet 4th Class
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Oct 10, 2020 10:57 pm

Post by sobeach » Wed Oct 14, 2020 5:54 pm

I am slowly getting my head around how to configure my controllers. I have my joystick set as 0 and everything on it seems to work. I have the throttle set to "1" and while the buttons on the throttle seem to work ok, I cannot seem to get the actual throttle to control thrust. I have set the two options in the config file related to the throttle as 1 and 1, but I have no control over the thrust. Any suggestions?

User avatar
JeremyaFr
XWAU Member
Posts: 3918
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 5:52 pm
Contact:

Post by JeremyaFr » Wed Oct 14, 2020 7:11 pm

WIP

Hello,
I've updated the joystick hook.

I've added RudderControllerIndex and RudderControllerAxisIndex setings.

Code: Select all

RudderControllerIndex = controller index
Select the controller used for rudder. The default value is 0.

RudderControllerAxisIndex = axis index
Select the controller axis used for rudder. The default value is 3 (r axis).
EDIT: link removed

User avatar
JeremyaFr
XWAU Member
Posts: 3918
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 5:52 pm
Contact:

Post by JeremyaFr » Wed Oct 14, 2020 7:14 pm

sobeach wrote:
Wed Oct 14, 2020 5:54 pm
I am slowly getting my head around how to configure my controllers. I have my joystick set as 0 and everything on it seems to work. I have the throttle set to "1" and while the buttons on the throttle seem to work ok, I cannot seem to get the actual throttle to control thrust. I have set the two options in the config file related to the throttle as 1 and 1, but I have no control over the thrust. Any suggestions?
You can try setting 0 to ThrottleControllerAxisIndex.

ZanElJOK
Rebel Alliance
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2009 3:30 am

Post by ZanElJOK » Thu Oct 15, 2020 12:51 am

I have a configuration for my TM Warthog HOTAS. It doesn't have the MFDs and includes the TM rudder. I have attached it if you would like to try working with it in TARGET. You can unzip it wherever you like and then in TARGET hit Edit configuration to find and open it. I don't have anything programed for the first trigger because the game recognizes it as the button you use to shoot with. Feel free to mess with it and make it your own. You can then have the virtual controller (combined Throttle, Stick and MFDs) be on one controller and your rudder pedals a second controller
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
May the Force be with you all.

User avatar
Rookie_One1
Rebel Alliance
Posts: 1656
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2004 12:01 am

Post by Rookie_One1 » Thu Oct 15, 2020 8:05 am

Ooh, shiny new hook!
Rookie One, is that you?? - Ru Merleen, Rebel Spy at Imdaar Alpha
Current Holder of the Frying Pan of Death

sobeach
Cadet 4th Class
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Oct 10, 2020 10:57 pm

Post by sobeach » Thu Oct 15, 2020 8:47 pm

JeremyaFr
Is ThrottleControllerAxisIndex one of the choices in XwaJoystickConfig? Is it the second one? I changed both choices from 1 to 0 and the throttle still will not respond.
Is it possible that the throttle, as it is an axis, is not recognized in the config app?

ZanElJok
Thanks for the target file. I do not use target as my joystick is a combination of a WH stick and a Virpil base so target does not run with that config. However, does the game recognize your throttle increase and decrease inputs? I will nevertheless look at your assignments to get an idea of how I may configure my WH throttle buttons (sans throttle axis) and my joystick buttons. thanks.

sobeach
Cadet 4th Class
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Oct 10, 2020 10:57 pm

Post by sobeach » Fri Oct 16, 2020 2:37 am

JeremyaFr

I just downloaded your latest version and will try it tomorrow. However, FYI, my controllers are separate controllers and are not united as a single controller. Does that matter to your joystick mod?

sobeach
Cadet 4th Class
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Oct 10, 2020 10:57 pm

Post by sobeach » Fri Oct 16, 2020 5:15 pm

JeremyaFr

I have downloaded your latest version of the joystick hook and have gotten the throttle to work at last. I think the problem with the throttle was unfortunately User error. I have not tried the rest of the buttons on the throttle, but I am optimistic.

Now for the one remaining issue-the rudder control. Using my joystick and button 2, I seem to be able to rotate the ship, but cannot get this to work when just using the rudder pedals.

In the interest of giving you all the facts as I know and understand them, I am providing you with the list of my controllers as I believe I have scientifically (by testing one button at a time) identified correctly in my setup. I have 8 controllers numbered 0 to 7 in your hook mod. (I have so many as I usually fly jets in DCS and having them is a great help)

Joystick Hook No.........buttons.....POV......My controller
Joystick 0......................19..........4..........TM Warthog Joystick
Joystick 1......................32...........4.........TM Warthog throttle
Joystick 2......................28...........0.........TM MFD #1
Joystick 3......................28...........0.........TM MFD #2
Joystick 4......................28...........0.........TM MFD #4
Joystick 5......................28...........0.........TM MFD #3
Joystick 6......................12...........0.........CH throttle quadrant
Joystick 7......................14...........4.........CH rudder pedals***

The only one that I am not sure of is Joystick 7 as the pedals have no buttons to test. However, by process of elimination, this would have to be the pedals. According to the windows game controller app, the x and y axis are the brakes and the Z axis is for the rudder. I have no r axis on the pedals. Could this be the problem?

My settings for the 5 choices in your mod are: 0, 1, 3, 7 and I have tried 1,2, and 3 for the rudder axis.

I hope the above helps.

User avatar
JeremyaFr
XWAU Member
Posts: 3918
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 5:52 pm
Contact:

Post by JeremyaFr » Fri Oct 16, 2020 7:15 pm

WIP

Hello,
I've fixed a bug when the first controler has no R axis.

EDIT: link removed

User avatar
JeremyaFr
XWAU Member
Posts: 3918
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 5:52 pm
Contact:

Post by JeremyaFr » Fri Oct 16, 2020 7:17 pm

@sobeach

When the first controller doesn't have a R axis, setting the rudder device and axis have no effect. This is a bug. I've fixed it.

sobeach
Cadet 4th Class
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Oct 10, 2020 10:57 pm

Post by sobeach » Fri Oct 16, 2020 9:08 pm

JeremyaFr

I tried your new version and inserted 7 as the rudder controller and tried all 3 axis on the rudder pedals, but no joy. Not sure what the issue is, unless my Number 7 is not the rudder pedals, but I think it is.
Unless the rudder pedals do something else, just using the joystick and button 2 would seem to be enough. I will be glad to try any new versions to solve this issue if you want me to.
Thanks

PS I checked all of my controllers and none of them have a R axis.

User avatar
JeremyaFr
XWAU Member
Posts: 3918
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 5:52 pm
Contact:

Post by JeremyaFr » Sat Oct 17, 2020 3:11 pm

WIP

Hello,
I've updated the joystick hook.
I've added a "System Controllers" tab to XwaJoystickConfig.

EDIT: link removed

sobeach
Cadet 4th Class
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Oct 10, 2020 10:57 pm

Post by sobeach » Sat Oct 17, 2020 5:23 pm

I have tried all 3 axis on the rudders but no joy. Attached is a screen shot of my controllers:
controllers.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
JeremyaFr
XWAU Member
Posts: 3918
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 5:52 pm
Contact:

Post by JeremyaFr » Sat Oct 17, 2020 6:51 pm

Is rudder enabled in the in-game controller option menu?

sobeach
Cadet 4th Class
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Oct 10, 2020 10:57 pm

Post by sobeach » Sat Oct 17, 2020 7:10 pm

Yes. Its status is OK. Also, I use it every day in DCS.

If you want to discuss this on teamspeak, I can do that.

User avatar
Rookie_One1
Rebel Alliance
Posts: 1656
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2004 12:01 am

Post by Rookie_One1 » Sat Oct 17, 2020 9:40 pm

Stupid question : are you using axis 0 to 2 or axis 1 to 3 ? (it start at 0, not at 1 )
Rookie One, is that you?? - Ru Merleen, Rebel Spy at Imdaar Alpha
Current Holder of the Frying Pan of Death

sobeach
Cadet 4th Class
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Oct 10, 2020 10:57 pm

Post by sobeach » Sat Oct 17, 2020 11:56 pm

Rookie_One1

Good point. So I tried 0, 1 and 2 for the rudder axis and no joy.

PS: I am wondering if the problem has something to do with the TrackIR hack and the roll axis? The only problem with that is the roll axis works fine with the joystick and button 2 pressed.

User avatar
JeremyaFr
XWAU Member
Posts: 3918
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 5:52 pm
Contact:

Post by JeremyaFr » Sun Oct 18, 2020 4:43 pm

Hello,
Does the rudder pedals work if you define them as the throttle controller.

Code: Select all

; rudder pedals
ThrottleControllerIndex = 7

; you can try 0, 1, or 2
ThrottleControllerAxisIndex = 0

sobeach
Cadet 4th Class
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Oct 10, 2020 10:57 pm

Post by sobeach » Sun Oct 18, 2020 7:17 pm

JeremyaFr
You wrote:
"Does the rudder pedals work if you define them as the throttle controller."

I used the following numbers in the config:
0, 1, 3, 1, and for the last choice, I used 0,1,2,3,and 4 with no luck. I am a little unsure of your request. Did you mean that I should use controller 1 for both the throttle and pedals-which I did? The throttle is working fine.
Last edited by sobeach on Sun Oct 18, 2020 7:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Post Reply