Custom Hangars

Need help editing the game? Check for help here!

Moderators: Darksaber, General_Trageton, Forceflow

Re: Custom Hangars

JeremyaFr
Lieutenant
XWAU Member
Posts: 878
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 5:52 pm
Contact:

Post by JeremyaFr » Fri May 25, 2018 4:02 pm

UPDATE
I've updated XwaHangarMapEditor. The selected folder is now remenbered.

User avatar
Driftwood
Lieutenant Commander
XWAU Member
Posts: 1295
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2003 11:01 pm
Contact:

Post by Driftwood » Sat May 26, 2018 1:18 am

That was fast, thanks Jeremya.

User avatar
DTM
Lieutenant Commander
XWAU Member
Posts: 1085
Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2003 11:01 pm
Contact:

Post by DTM » Mon Sep 03, 2018 4:59 pm

In these days in the xwaup private forum, we are putting a strain on JeremyFr's patience. I can not say in short, how many wonderful things we are experiencing thanks to Jeremy, but I think everyone will soon want to thank him ...

Now I have a question, which maybe will distract Jeremy from his extraordinary work, but maybe the answer is simpler than what I think ... or maybe it's simply impossible ...

Some custom hangars are too small for the Shuttle's landing and for the movement of the droids around the player's ship. Replacing the opt of these objects with invisible cubes is not the best solution ... just think that if the shuttle is loaded in the mission, the trick does not work. Also some cameras follow the droids, which cross the walls ...

How to solve this problem? One way would be to be able to load the specifications of the family hangar for any mission, as they are in the first missions of the game: no shuttle and no droid wagging ... :roll: ???

MTD industries
WIPs: Fixing missions and new editing for the REBCP, Resistance Mon Calamari Cruiser, New advanced base OPT files for all playable XWAUP crafts.

User avatar
Driftwood
Lieutenant Commander
XWAU Member
Posts: 1295
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2003 11:01 pm
Contact:

Post by Driftwood » Mon Sep 03, 2018 7:13 pm

I've generally just resized the custom hangar interiors to match the calamari hangar internal dimensions if they are too small, unless it's obviously impossible to fit the shuttle due to the exterior dimensions, then I just use a blank opt or smaller ship to replace the shuttle opt and/or crane, for that hangar. Obviously this is generally my preferred gameplay function and aesthetic vs "realism" design choice.

I'm not sure more automization is the answer in this case. Doesn't everything use the default hangar if a custom one is not defined?

JeremyaFr
Lieutenant
XWAU Member
Posts: 878
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 5:52 pm
Contact:

Post by JeremyaFr » Fri Sep 14, 2018 6:08 pm

UPDATE

Hello,
I've updated the hangars hook.
You can now disable the shuttle and droids loading.

In "HangarObjects.txt":
To not load the shuttle, set "LoadShuttle = 0".
To not load the droids, set "LoadDroids = 0".

User avatar
Driftwood
Lieutenant Commander
XWAU Member
Posts: 1295
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2003 11:01 pm
Contact:

Post by Driftwood » Fri Sep 14, 2018 11:11 pm

Thank you!

Bman
Lieutenant JG
Posts: 508
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2004 11:01 pm

Post by Bman » Sat Sep 15, 2018 1:41 am

Wow, very nice. Thank you Jeremy!

On the flip side,
1) Is it possible to have more than one instance of the Shuttle (or other substitute craft) launching and returning to hangar concurrently and/or independently?
2) And perhaps with different delayed times via a .cfg or .txt file?
3) Could the vector path of the Shuttle (or other substituted craft) be altered other than heading out and then exiting only to the right side of the hangar? :-)
Last edited by Bman on Sat Sep 15, 2018 5:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.
W-I-P: ISD-II, XQ-1 Platform1, New Escort Carrier Hangar, & Misc.

User avatar
Darksaber

Fleet Admiral (Administrator)
Posts: 9497
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2000 12:01 am
Contact:

Post by Darksaber » Sat Sep 15, 2018 3:45 pm

JeremyaFr wrote:
Fri Sep 14, 2018 6:08 pm
UPDATE

Hello,
I've updated the hangars hook.
You can now disable the shuttle and droids loading.

In "HangarObjects.txt":
To not load the shuttle, set "LoadShuttle = 0".
To not load the droids, set "LoadDroids = 0".
Slight problem with disabling the shuttle, you still hear the "Shuttle Departing" sound and he sound of the Shuttle taking off and landing. :(
Good Things Come To Those Who Wait....
Darksaber's X-Wing Station

JeremyaFr
Lieutenant
XWAU Member
Posts: 878
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 5:52 pm
Contact:

Post by JeremyaFr » Sat Sep 15, 2018 4:25 pm

Darksaber wrote:
Sat Sep 15, 2018 3:45 pm
Slight problem with disabling the shuttle, you still hear the "Shuttle Departing" sound and he sound of the Shuttle taking off and landing. :(
I think I've fixed that.

Please redownload xwa_hook_hangars.zip

User avatar
Darksaber

Fleet Admiral (Administrator)
Posts: 9497
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2000 12:01 am
Contact:

Post by Darksaber » Sat Sep 15, 2018 5:51 pm

Yep, I can confirm you've fixed it, well done mate :)
Good Things Come To Those Who Wait....
Darksaber's X-Wing Station

User avatar
DTM
Lieutenant Commander
XWAU Member
Posts: 1085
Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2003 11:01 pm
Contact:

Post by DTM » Sun Sep 16, 2018 9:09 pm

There is a problem with the "LoadShuttle = 0" option: if you get killed on the mission, the game crashes. Probably because there is no shuttle to use to return to the hangar … ;(

MTD industries
WIPs: Fixing missions and new editing for the REBCP, Resistance Mon Calamari Cruiser, New advanced base OPT files for all playable XWAUP crafts.

JeremyaFr
Lieutenant
XWAU Member
Posts: 878
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 5:52 pm
Contact:

Post by JeremyaFr » Mon Sep 17, 2018 6:32 pm

In my testings (mission B4M5), the camera looks a bit odd (this can be fixed) but no crash. Can you attach a crash report please?

User avatar
DTM
Lieutenant Commander
XWAU Member
Posts: 1085
Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2003 11:01 pm
Contact:

Post by DTM » Wed Sep 19, 2018 3:53 pm

Ok! I did a bit of testing and I understood why in my mission the game crashes when I die:
In HangarObjects.txt I've set both

"LoadShuttle=0"
AND
FlightModels\Shuttle.opt = MyWhateverNameIChoose.opt 

If I remove the second line fron the txt file, the game does not crush!

MTD industries
WIPs: Fixing missions and new editing for the REBCP, Resistance Mon Calamari Cruiser, New advanced base OPT files for all playable XWAUP crafts.

JeremyaFr
Lieutenant
XWAU Member
Posts: 878
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 5:52 pm
Contact:

Post by JeremyaFr » Wed Sep 19, 2018 5:08 pm

UPDATE
I've added an option to modify the Shuttle model index.

In "HangarObjects.txt":
To set the shuttle model index, set "ShuttleModelIndex = value". value is an integer. The default value is 50 (Shuttle).

Please redownload xwa_hook_hangars.zip

User avatar
DTM
Lieutenant Commander
XWAU Member
Posts: 1085
Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2003 11:01 pm
Contact:

Post by DTM » Wed Sep 19, 2018 5:29 pm

So is it possible to choose any vehicle, which lands and takes off with working S-foils, instead of the shuttle? Fantastic!

MTD industries
WIPs: Fixing missions and new editing for the REBCP, Resistance Mon Calamari Cruiser, New advanced base OPT files for all playable XWAUP crafts.

User avatar
Darksaber

Fleet Admiral (Administrator)
Posts: 9497
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2000 12:01 am
Contact:

Post by Darksaber » Wed Sep 19, 2018 9:58 pm

Good jobs I saw this
Good Things Come To Those Who Wait....
Darksaber's X-Wing Station

JeremyaFr
Lieutenant
XWAU Member
Posts: 878
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 5:52 pm
Contact:

Post by JeremyaFr » Thu Sep 20, 2018 5:05 pm

DTM wrote:
Wed Sep 19, 2018 5:29 pm
So is it possible to choose any vehicle, which lands and takes off with working S-foils, instead of the shuttle? Fantastic!
Hello,
For working S-Foils, it required to update the s-foils hook.

UPDATE
I've updated the s-foils hook for the Shuttle S-Foils (or any replaced craft) in the hangar.

Please redownload xwa_hook_sfoils.zip

JeremyaFr
Lieutenant
XWAU Member
Posts: 878
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 5:52 pm
Contact:

Post by JeremyaFr » Thu Sep 27, 2018 4:58 pm

TEST
link removed

Hello,
You can now set a different hangar for the departure and arrival craft.

You can see which hangar is loaded by using DebugView.
Last edited by JeremyaFr on Sat Oct 20, 2018 3:36 pm, edited 8 times in total.

Bman
Lieutenant JG
Posts: 508
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2004 11:01 pm

Post by Bman » Fri Sep 28, 2018 2:51 am

.
Last edited by Bman on Sun Sep 30, 2018 2:56 am, edited 1 time in total.
W-I-P: ISD-II, XQ-1 Platform1, New Escort Carrier Hangar, & Misc.

JeremyaFr
Lieutenant
XWAU Member
Posts: 878
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 5:52 pm
Contact:

Post by JeremyaFr » Fri Sep 28, 2018 5:08 pm

Hello,
I've fixed a bug in the test hook.

Bman
Lieutenant JG
Posts: 508
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2004 11:01 pm

Post by Bman » Sun Sep 30, 2018 3:19 am

.
Last edited by Bman on Fri Oct 05, 2018 2:27 am, edited 2 times in total.
W-I-P: ISD-II, XQ-1 Platform1, New Escort Carrier Hangar, & Misc.

JeremyaFr
Lieutenant
XWAU Member
Posts: 878
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 5:52 pm
Contact:

Post by JeremyaFr » Tue Oct 02, 2018 12:15 pm

Hello,
I've updated the test hook.
The previous code doesn't work. I think it is better now.
Please redownload the test hook.

Bman
Lieutenant JG
Posts: 508
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2004 11:01 pm

Post by Bman » Fri Oct 05, 2018 2:38 am

.
Last edited by Bman on Mon Oct 08, 2018 3:51 am, edited 1 time in total.
W-I-P: ISD-II, XQ-1 Platform1, New Escort Carrier Hangar, & Misc.

JeremyaFr
Lieutenant
XWAU Member
Posts: 878
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 5:52 pm
Contact:

Post by JeremyaFr » Fri Oct 05, 2018 6:23 pm

The game engine loads the hangar opt only once at mission startup. To make multiple hangars to work, I need to find a way to reload the hangar opt each time the player enter a hangar.

JeremyaFr
Lieutenant
XWAU Member
Posts: 878
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 5:52 pm
Contact:

Post by JeremyaFr » Sun Oct 07, 2018 1:41 pm

Hello,
I've found how to reload the hangar opt.

Please redownload the test hook.

Post Reply