Page 5 of 10

Re: [OPTing] OPTech v2

Posted: Sun Oct 13, 2019 12:31 am
by Vince T
Hey Jeremy, I noticed another issue, which I don't completely understand:
In the illumination editor, some textures just won't be recognized. If I select a pixel/color, it just won't register. I have verified the textures have correct resolution and tried both 8bit and 32bit depth.
For other textures it just works fine.

Re: [OPTing] OPTech v2

Posted: Sun Oct 13, 2019 2:26 pm
by JeremyaFr
UPDATE
Hello,
I've fixed the texture pixel selection.

The problem was related to the texture DPI.

Re: [OPTing] OPTech v2

Posted: Sun Oct 13, 2019 5:19 pm
by Vince T
YES! That did the trick! Thank you!

Re: [OPTing] OPTech v2

Posted: Fri Jan 03, 2020 11:13 pm
by Vince T
Hey Jeremy, I have another challenge for you - 3 actually :) All have to do with rotation values.
1. Right now, when you mirror/mirror-duplicate a mesh, OPTech will flip the rotation value along the Y-axis. However, looking up the model in S-Foils Editor it becomes apparent that the values are flipped incorrectly. To elaborate, I'm taking the VSD's rotary wings as example.
The upper starboard wing currently has a its rotation set to:

Code: Select all

-8396;-32767;0
When flipping/mirroring it, the x-value is inverted:

Code: Select all

8396;-32767;0
At first glance, the red rotation axis aligns correctly. However, in S-Foils editor and ingame, the rotation is now inverted. To fix this, the axis needs to point the other way. Therefore, instead of the x-value, the y-value has to be inverted. The correct values would thus be:

Code: Select all

-8396;32767;0
2: Right now, when you move/mirror/duplicate/... a mesh, it carries along the rotation pivot. However, it doesn't do that when rotating the mesh. Would it be possible to carry over the Rotation's pivot coordinates when rotating?

3: OK now for the real juicy bit, this builds upon 1 and 2:
Could the rotation/translation/scale values also be converted when rotating a mesh? So, e.g. if I rotate a mesh by 90° along the Z-axis, the rotation values would be translated accordingly? This would be really great and EXTREMELY helpful when setting up gun turrets that are placed in odd angles.

Re: [OPTing] OPTech v2

Posted: Fri Jan 03, 2020 11:29 pm
by Darksaber
Seconded :2thumbs: :applaus:

Re: [OPTing] OPTech v2

Posted: Sat Jan 04, 2020 2:12 am
by Bman
I third that too! :-)

Re: [OPTing] OPTech v2

Posted: Sat Jan 04, 2020 3:04 pm
by JeremyaFr
General_Trageton wrote:
Fri Jan 03, 2020 11:13 pm
Hey Jeremy, I have another challenge for you
challenge accepted

EDIT: link removed

Re: [OPTing] OPTech v2

Posted: Sat Jan 04, 2020 5:07 pm
by Vince T
Wow that was quick! Thanks Jeremy!

I've taken a look and the translation of the values upon rotation seems to work like a charm. I was afraid it wouldn't work because, so far, rotation would only work if the angles are achieved using, 0, 32767 and a third value to create the angle, otherwise the mesh would morph in weird ways (had that with the ATR) BUT setting up the correct angles and then rotating the mesh works just as well now.

Only thing that still needs work is the flipping function. Basically the outcome has to be like this:
- The Green axis (translation) is pointing the way the mesh(turret etc.) is facing
- The Red axis (rotation) has to point along the rotation axis, usually 90° upward of the green axis
- The Blue axis (scale) has to point LEFT at a 90° angle from the green or red axis.
Hope this was in any way helpful :D

Re: [OPTing] OPTech v2

Posted: Sat Jan 04, 2020 7:27 pm
by JeremyaFr
EDIT: link removed

I've fixed the axis rotation.
I've fixed an exception when opening the vanilla BWing.opt and selecting the wings.

Re: [OPTing] OPTech v2

Posted: Wed Jan 08, 2020 7:45 pm
by JeremyaFr
UPDATE

Hello,
I've merged the changes from the WIP version into the stable version.

Re: [OPTing] OPTech v2

Posted: Sat Feb 29, 2020 4:11 pm
by Vince T
Hey Jeremy, I've encountered another challenge for which I think there is a simple(?) solution:
In the Geometry > Texture Window (Face) could you add a pair of buttons with the following functions?
Button 1: Copy the textures coordinates from a single selected face
Button 2: Paste these coordinates to one or more selected faces?

Re: [OPTing] OPTech v2

Posted: Sat Feb 29, 2020 5:26 pm
by JeremyaFr
EDIT: link removed

Hello,
I've added a Copy and Paste buttons to copy and paste texture coordinates.

Re: [OPTing] OPTech v2

Posted: Sat Feb 29, 2020 5:40 pm
by Vince T
Damn that was quick! Thanks alot Jeremy!

I‘m off to a birthday party and likely drunk when I come back, but I‘ll test it out asap tomorrow!

Re: [OPTing] OPTech v2

Posted: Sun Mar 01, 2020 12:57 pm
by Vince T
OK tested it, works great as far as I can tell!

One thing I'd suggest changed is the position. Right now the buttons are located in the geometry editor, which means if I want to select faces from model on the right and then copy / paste them, I have to switch between texture and geometry window all the time. Could you relocate those buttons to the texture window?

I could imagine the whole thing looking something like this....
OPTechLayout.jpg

Re: [OPTing] OPTech v2

Posted: Sun Mar 01, 2020 2:20 pm
by JeremyaFr
EDIT: link removed

I've added the buttons to the texture tab.
Now the copy and paste buttons are on both the geometry and texture tabs.

Re: [OPTing] OPTech v2

Posted: Sun Mar 01, 2020 6:51 pm
by Vince T
Yes! That's great! Thanks Jeremy!

Re: [OPTing] OPTech v2

Posted: Sun Mar 01, 2020 7:52 pm
by JeremyaFr
UPDATE

I've merged the changes into the stable version.
I've updated XwaToolsDownloader to include the new version

Re: [OPTing] OPTech v2

Posted: Thu Apr 02, 2020 3:43 pm
by jmarso
Starting from ZERO knowledge on OPT editing and messing around a bit with this new version. Been playing with the various functions, but I'm not finding it very intuitive. Couple of questions if anyone is so inclined:

1. Importing an obj file for a fighter that comes with textures, but the textures don't show. Do I need to move those texture files somewhere so the program can see them? Or is there something else going on?

2. The obj model imports at the wrong angle. For example, when I click on the button to view it from the front, I get top down view. The top view button gives me the front view. How do I correct this? I suspect that if left uncorrected, the model would 'fly' along the wrong axis in game, and/or weapons would should at right angles from hard points, and so on.

3. Is there a tutorial anywhere for using this program? The readme file appears to be for an older version. Like I said, I'm starting at square one with the OPT stuff. I'm not a 3d modeler or artist; Basically I'd like to be able to import an existing file (for personal use, not to release someone else's work as my own), make sure it's textured and scaled properly, and be able to add or delete hardpoints and engine glow and export it as a useable OPT.

If a model comes with texture files included, shouldn't there be a way to import those into the program as well?

Re: [OPTing] OPTech v2

Posted: Thu Apr 02, 2020 4:31 pm
by JeremyaFr
Hello,
To import already textured models, you can try XwaOptEditor.

Re: [OPTing] OPTech v2

Posted: Thu Apr 02, 2020 6:15 pm
by jmarso
Excellent!

Thanks a bunch

Re: [OPTing] OPTech v2

Posted: Mon Apr 13, 2020 8:47 pm
by Vince T
Hey Jeremy, I've got a question, a potential bug and a request(well 2) XD
Question: What does OPTech calculate as mesh limit threshold? AFAIK the limit should be 50, but I'm still getting the error message with 49 meshes including the LOD mehs.

Bug: When I rename a mesh and click ok, it is no longer selected. It still appears as selected but with red wireframe, i.e. no longer the current focus.

Requests
1. Could you add the mesh count to the face count dialogue?
2. The Error check still complains about texture dimensions being larger than 256px. Could you update that check so it checks for texture dimensions that are not 2^x?

Re: [OPTing] OPTech v2

Posted: Tue Apr 14, 2020 11:33 am
by JeremyaFr
EDIT: link removed

- The mesh limit is 50. In original OPTech, the limit was 45. I've fixed that.
- I've modified the check for textures count. It was 100. I've set it to 200. But with the opt limit hook, the limit no longer exists.
- I've added the mesh count and flightgroup count to the face count dialog.
- I've removed the check for texture bigger than 256x256.
- The check for texture dimensions that are not power of 2 already exists.
- I've fixed the bug with the rename mesh function.

Re: [OPTing] OPTech v2

Posted: Tue Apr 14, 2020 2:00 pm
by Vince T
Ahhh nice! All seems to work fine. Great work, Jeremy! Thank you again!

Re: [OPTing] OPTech v2

Posted: Tue Apr 14, 2020 3:26 pm
by JeremyaFr
Hello,
I've merged the changes into the stable version.

Re: [OPTing] OPTech v2

Posted: Tue Apr 14, 2020 9:28 pm
by Darksaber
Nice :)