[OPTing] OPTech v2

Need help editing the game? Check for help here!

Moderators: Darksaber, General_Trageton, Forceflow

Re: [OPTing] OPTech v2

User avatar
General_Trageton

Fleet Admiral (Administrator)
Posts: 12133
Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2001 11:01 pm
Contact:

Post by General_Trageton » Sun Aug 25, 2019 1:06 pm

Hey Jeremy, I noticed a displaying issue in current OPTech.
I revisited the old SSD OPZ to check out something. Dragon and I had split it into several OPZs to facilitate work and performance under v1.1
The Bridge in this case was a separate OPT, but it was placed in accordance to its position on the SSd, meaning it was several km away from the OPZ's center, 0,0,0

This had the effect that when viewing it from certain angles it would disappear. You can see it in top/down view but as you rotate the camera to look at it from the front or side, it very soon disappears.

I've attached a screen of the various "stages" of disapperanc.
rotation.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Your ship, Captain. I need a drink. - Vince Trageton
Vince T's Modding HQ | Blue Phantom Chronicles WIki | My Steam Workshop

JeremyaFr
Lieutenant Commander
XWAU Member
Posts: 1607
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 5:52 pm
Contact:

Post by JeremyaFr » Sun Aug 25, 2019 1:57 pm

It seems to be an issue with the near and far planes of the camera.

User avatar
Darksaber

Fleet Admiral (Administrator)
Posts: 10319
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2000 12:01 am
Contact:

Post by Darksaber » Sun Aug 25, 2019 3:05 pm

Hmm what about adding a button, like and on/off button that when you press "On" it would centre the current mesh even though it could be 1km from the actual centre, and when you click the button to "Off" it would revert to be centred on the whole craft?

Would that work would it be possible?

If you placed the Buttons at the top on the same line as, and next too the High Level/Low Level

A couple of Icons if they are needed and it's possible :)

EDIT: link removed
“You can please some of the people all of the time, you can please all of the people some of the time, but you can’t please all of the people all of the time”.”
- John Lydgate

Good Things Come To Those Who Wait....
Darksaber's X-Wing Station

JeremyaFr
Lieutenant Commander
XWAU Member
Posts: 1607
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 5:52 pm
Contact:

Post by JeremyaFr » Sun Aug 25, 2019 5:13 pm

WIP

Hello,
I've added the mesh zoom on/off buttons.
When you select a different mesh, it will be zoomed.

EDIT: link removed
Last edited by JeremyaFr on Sun Aug 25, 2019 7:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Darksaber

Fleet Admiral (Administrator)
Posts: 10319
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2000 12:01 am
Contact:

Post by Darksaber » Sun Aug 25, 2019 5:58 pm

Bloody brilliant, that's much better, It should help GT as well

Thanks :D :D :D

I've made the icons smaller in size, they are still 128x128 I should have exported instead of just saving :)
Sorry, no need to make another WIP for this, just change them when you have a proper release

EDIT: link removed

Also could you put the buttons the other way around Off then On :)

Oh could you also make the Off as default please, thanks :)

Brilliant though :)
“You can please some of the people all of the time, you can please all of the people some of the time, but you can’t please all of the people all of the time”.”
- John Lydgate

Good Things Come To Those Who Wait....
Darksaber's X-Wing Station

JeremyaFr
Lieutenant Commander
XWAU Member
Posts: 1607
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 5:52 pm
Contact:

Post by JeremyaFr » Sun Aug 25, 2019 7:03 pm

UPDATE
Hello,
I've merged the changes from the WIP version to the stable version.

User avatar
Darksaber

Fleet Admiral (Administrator)
Posts: 10319
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2000 12:01 am
Contact:

Post by Darksaber » Sun Aug 25, 2019 7:04 pm

Oh ok that was quick, thanks :D
“You can please some of the people all of the time, you can please all of the people some of the time, but you can’t please all of the people all of the time”.”
- John Lydgate

Good Things Come To Those Who Wait....
Darksaber's X-Wing Station

User avatar
General_Trageton

Fleet Admiral (Administrator)
Posts: 12133
Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2001 11:01 pm
Contact:

Post by General_Trageton » Sun Aug 25, 2019 10:21 pm

Wow that's one awesome feature! It's always been a hassle having to repositioin the camera when switching to a different mesh.
Say, any chance you can make this work in Face and vertex mode as well?

Also, one more minor request: You know those copy/paste buttons you added for the mesh coordinates? Could you also add those to the mesh rotation coordinates? I could see this doing wonders combined with my object repository idea.
Your ship, Captain. I need a drink. - Vince Trageton
Vince T's Modding HQ | Blue Phantom Chronicles WIki | My Steam Workshop

User avatar
Darksaber

Fleet Admiral (Administrator)
Posts: 10319
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2000 12:01 am
Contact:

Post by Darksaber » Sun Aug 25, 2019 11:22 pm

General_Trageton wrote:
Sun Aug 25, 2019 10:21 pm
Also, one more minor request: You know those copy/paste buttons you added for the mesh coordinates? Could you also add those to the mesh rotation coordinates?
I don't think you'll be able to, due to once you enter a value, either press enter or left mouse click on another value box the mesh rotates then the value is reset back to 0

You couldn't do it with the Mesh Scale either, due to the same thing happening

So how would you be able to copy values?
“You can please some of the people all of the time, you can please all of the people some of the time, but you can’t please all of the people all of the time”.”
- John Lydgate

Good Things Come To Those Who Wait....
Darksaber's X-Wing Station

User avatar
General_Trageton

Fleet Admiral (Administrator)
Posts: 12133
Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2001 11:01 pm
Contact:

Post by General_Trageton » Mon Aug 26, 2019 4:04 am

Ah yeah you‘re right! Forgot about that.
Your ship, Captain. I need a drink. - Vince Trageton
Vince T's Modding HQ | Blue Phantom Chronicles WIki | My Steam Workshop

User avatar
Darksaber

Fleet Admiral (Administrator)
Posts: 10319
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2000 12:01 am
Contact:

Post by Darksaber » Mon Aug 26, 2019 2:39 pm

Hi Jeremy,

Would you take a look at the mouse movement as something has changes between 2.0.28 and 2.0.30, when you now use Ctrl and Right Mouse button to move the craft it now moves in the opposite direction to what it does in 2.0.28

It's effecting different views

Perspective = all over the place
Top = move with mouse up/down seems fine, move mouse left/right the craft moves right/left
Bottom = Mouse movement is fine
Right = up is right, down is left, Left the meshes disappear, Right the meshes disappear
Left = up is right, down is left, Left the meshes disappear, Right the meshes disappear
Front = Right mouse movement it's going left, left it's moving right, Up and down no movement
Back = Right movement goes right, left mouse movement goes left, no up or down movement

Only just notice this sorry :(
“You can please some of the people all of the time, you can please all of the people some of the time, but you can’t please all of the people all of the time”.”
- John Lydgate

Good Things Come To Those Who Wait....
Darksaber's X-Wing Station

JeremyaFr
Lieutenant Commander
XWAU Member
Posts: 1607
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 5:52 pm
Contact:

Post by JeremyaFr » Tue Aug 27, 2019 12:01 pm

I will fix that.
I will also add zooming for face and vertex list.

JeremyaFr
Lieutenant Commander
XWAU Member
Posts: 1607
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 5:52 pm
Contact:

Post by JeremyaFr » Tue Aug 27, 2019 2:42 pm

UPDATE
Hello,
I've updated OPTech.

Changelog:
  • Fixed the camera controls
  • Improved the mesh zooming
  • Added face zooming
  • Added vertex zooming
In vertex mode, when a vertex is selected, the zoom fonctionality will zoom to the associated face.

User avatar
Darksaber

Fleet Admiral (Administrator)
Posts: 10319
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2000 12:01 am
Contact:

Post by Darksaber » Tue Aug 27, 2019 2:49 pm

Thanks Jeremy, your a good 'n' :D


Thanks for fixing the camera control, it was driving me insane not knowing which way to move my mouse :) the Zooming seems much smoother, I like the face zooming

Brilliant job :D
“You can please some of the people all of the time, you can please all of the people some of the time, but you can’t please all of the people all of the time”.”
- John Lydgate

Good Things Come To Those Who Wait....
Darksaber's X-Wing Station

Rebelyell
Cadet 4th Class
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2019 1:35 am

Post by Rebelyell » Wed Aug 28, 2019 7:39 pm

You've done great work Jeremy and while we ask much may I ask of one more thing? Is the a way to implement a rectangular selection tool? It would definitely make it easier to grab certain faces when texturing especially on smaller parts when the whole model still has default textures

User avatar
Darksaber

Fleet Admiral (Administrator)
Posts: 10319
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2000 12:01 am
Contact:

Post by Darksaber » Wed Aug 28, 2019 8:33 pm

Hmmm.....

If you talking about selecting a certain face it may be rectangular or a triangle, on the view screen click on your selected mesh, at the top on the screen click on Face, now keep your finger on the shift key and with your mouse pointer click on the individual faces you want to texture.

That's one ways, the other way, you see a list one the left hand side, this is a list of all the faces, with Ctrlt + left mouse click on the individual list faces, if you find you selected the wrong face just Ctrl + left mouse again to unselect it, or if you what to select the full list press shift on the first item, scroll down to the last item and shift+ left mouse
“You can please some of the people all of the time, you can please all of the people some of the time, but you can’t please all of the people all of the time”.”
- John Lydgate

Good Things Come To Those Who Wait....
Darksaber's X-Wing Station

Rebelyell
Cadet 4th Class
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2019 1:35 am

Post by Rebelyell » Wed Aug 28, 2019 9:34 pm

Youre right of course. I was looking for something more like the selection tool in rhino to quickly select/deselect a group of faces so you dont have to try and guess which ones you want from the list.

TBH i dont know if optech could even support that but I thought Id ask :)

JeremyaFr
Lieutenant Commander
XWAU Member
Posts: 1607
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 5:52 pm
Contact:

Post by JeremyaFr » Tue Sep 03, 2019 7:09 pm

UPDATE
Hello,
I've updated OPTech.

Changelog:
  • Fix selection with back face culling
  • Add vertex count to the face count dialog

User avatar
Darksaber

Fleet Admiral (Administrator)
Posts: 10319
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2000 12:01 am
Contact:

Post by Darksaber » Tue Sep 03, 2019 7:14 pm

Thank you :)
“You can please some of the people all of the time, you can please all of the people some of the time, but you can’t please all of the people all of the time”.”
- John Lydgate

Good Things Come To Those Who Wait....
Darksaber's X-Wing Station

User avatar
General_Trageton

Fleet Admiral (Administrator)
Posts: 12133
Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2001 11:01 pm
Contact:

Post by General_Trageton » Tue Sep 03, 2019 7:18 pm

Great work! Thank you Jeremy!
Your ship, Captain. I need a drink. - Vince Trageton
Vince T's Modding HQ | Blue Phantom Chronicles WIki | My Steam Workshop

JeremyaFr
Lieutenant Commander
XWAU Member
Posts: 1607
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 5:52 pm
Contact:

Post by JeremyaFr » Mon Sep 30, 2019 8:25 pm

UPDATE

Now, a backup of the opz file is made on save.

User avatar
Darksaber

Fleet Admiral (Administrator)
Posts: 10319
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2000 12:01 am
Contact:

Post by Darksaber » Mon Sep 30, 2019 8:33 pm

Thank you :D
“You can please some of the people all of the time, you can please all of the people some of the time, but you can’t please all of the people all of the time”.”
- John Lydgate

Good Things Come To Those Who Wait....
Darksaber's X-Wing Station

User avatar
Darksaber

Fleet Admiral (Administrator)
Posts: 10319
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2000 12:01 am
Contact:

Post by Darksaber » Thu Oct 03, 2019 6:45 pm

Hi Jeremy, I just noticed this, while testing the rotation in Transformation in Optech

The Wireframe mesh doesn't line up with the same textured mesh
Transformation.jpg
Low priority, I just thought I'd mention it
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
“You can please some of the people all of the time, you can please all of the people some of the time, but you can’t please all of the people all of the time”.”
- John Lydgate

Good Things Come To Those Who Wait....
Darksaber's X-Wing Station

JeremyaFr
Lieutenant Commander
XWAU Member
Posts: 1607
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 5:52 pm
Contact:

Post by JeremyaFr » Thu Oct 03, 2019 7:39 pm

UPDATE

I've found what is the problem. When a model was rendered in both solid and wireframe, the animation was updated twice.
I've fixed that.

User avatar
Darksaber

Fleet Admiral (Administrator)
Posts: 10319
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2000 12:01 am
Contact:

Post by Darksaber » Thu Oct 03, 2019 7:44 pm

Thank you very much :D
“You can please some of the people all of the time, you can please all of the people some of the time, but you can’t please all of the people all of the time”.”
- John Lydgate

Good Things Come To Those Who Wait....
Darksaber's X-Wing Station

Post Reply