The Dynamic Cockpit Project

Need help editing the game? Check for help here!
Post Reply

Re: The Dynamic Cockpit Project

User avatar
blue_max
Lieutenant Commander
XWAU Member
Posts: 1319
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2019 5:12 am

Post by blue_max » Fri Dec 20, 2019 7:38 pm

Fixed! @rogue518 try this file instead of the one that comes with the ddraw install package. Just put it under the DynamicCockpit subdirectory:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/xhxyatd0xyg49 ... it.dc?dl=0

User avatar
rogue518
Commander
XWAU Member
Posts: 2268
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2000 11:01 pm
Contact:

Post by rogue518 » Sat Dec 21, 2019 12:47 am

Thanks blue_max..... at work at the moment will check it out when I get home... Thanks again for your help..... :D

Edit: Blue_Max , You are the Man!!! Hell Yes!! This is what I wanted for Darksaber's awesome Xwing!!! ;)


Sincerely, Rogue518
'Stay in Attack formation!' Darth Vader aka: Anakin Skywalker During the 'Battle Of Yavin'

User avatar
rogue518
Commander
XWAU Member
Posts: 2268
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2000 11:01 pm
Contact:

Post by rogue518 » Thu Dec 26, 2019 9:34 pm

I did notice one little problem with the Dynamic Cockpit Project... Spyder's X-Wing Cockpit has no Huds!!!

Sincerely, Rogue518
'Stay in Attack formation!' Darth Vader aka: Anakin Skywalker During the 'Battle Of Yavin'

User avatar
blue_max
Lieutenant Commander
XWAU Member
Posts: 1319
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2019 5:12 am

Post by blue_max » Thu Dec 26, 2019 9:47 pm

Yeah that's not surprising. Each cockpit has to be fixed separately. Maybe someone else has fixed that cockpit? Do you know how I can install it?

User avatar
rogue518
Commander
XWAU Member
Posts: 2268
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2000 11:01 pm
Contact:

Post by rogue518 » Thu Dec 26, 2019 10:38 pm

No, yeah I noticed it a while back...when I don't use the Dynamic Cockpit Project files I works!!! Oh well, I thought I would just put it out there....

Edit: I misread the question: the answer is 'YES'

1) you have 4 different types of X wings:

DefaultEdition
AzzameenEdition
RedSquadronEdition
NewRepublicEdition

2) Very Important !!! you have (4) different types of Cockpit sizes!! (with four different nose inclinations:) I think that is the problem:

1) 01_3 degrees
2) 02_5 degrees
3) 03_8 degrees
4) 04_10 degrees

Now I think I understand why the Hud's are not working on Spyder's X wing, your Dynamic Cockpit is fine for a standard cockpit size, but if you use use a different size it looks corrupted...
(I may be wrong I don't know it's just a theory.... :? )

Sincerely, Rogue518
'Stay in Attack formation!' Darth Vader aka: Anakin Skywalker During the 'Battle Of Yavin'

User avatar
blue_max
Lieutenant Commander
XWAU Member
Posts: 1319
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2019 5:12 am

Post by blue_max » Fri Dec 27, 2019 2:45 am

Well, I would need to take a look at how the Spyder's X-Wing cockpit looks like to be sure; but I think the problem is just that the texture names are messed up. DC works by looking at the texture names from the OPT and then replacing specific textures with HUD elements. Additionally, the HUD elements are covered with side-loaded textures that have transparency holes in them. So there's two problems here: 1) The texture names probably don't match and 2) The cover textures won't match the textures from Spyder's cockpit. Both problems can be solved though. For the first one you'll need the XwaOptEditor to check the names of the textures and for the second one you'll need an image editing software.

User avatar
rogue518
Commander
XWAU Member
Posts: 2268
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2000 11:01 pm
Contact:

Post by rogue518 » Fri Dec 27, 2019 3:09 pm

Yeah... blue_max I am sure you could get Spyder's permission to do that if you want to make changes, I am not too savvy on this type of stuff. But what I am saying, if I wanted to used Spyder's X-wing... there are no HUD's at all, which is strange..... :? Well I gave it a shot..... ;)

Sincerely, Rogue518
'Stay in Attack formation!' Darth Vader aka: Anakin Skywalker During the 'Battle Of Yavin'

User avatar
blue_max
Lieutenant Commander
XWAU Member
Posts: 1319
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2019 5:12 am

Post by blue_max » Fri Dec 27, 2019 9:24 pm

I just saw a video in youtube that uses Spyder's cockpit and the HUD does look a bit different. I believe that cockpit changed the DAT file where the HUD is stored. So I think additional changes in ddraw will be needed to support that cockpit; but I think it should be doable.

User avatar
rogue518
Commander
XWAU Member
Posts: 2268
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2000 11:01 pm
Contact:

Post by rogue518 » Fri Dec 27, 2019 9:52 pm

Cool... blue_max….

Sincerely, Rogue518
'Stay in Attack formation!' Darth Vader aka: Anakin Skywalker During the 'Battle Of Yavin'

korekwerner
Cadet 1st Class
Posts: 113
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2019 7:04 pm

Post by korekwerner » Sun Dec 29, 2019 6:45 pm

Hi,
I've made simple modification for the Spyder X-Wing cockpit.
here is video - https://youtu.be/2YVCBg2UXmg

the effect would be much better if spyder did the modification directly for blue_max dynamic cockpit.
I am an amateur in these subjects.

WK

User avatar
Trevor
Ensign
Posts: 420
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2014 7:11 pm

Post by Trevor » Tue Dec 31, 2019 1:25 pm

Blue_Max, cant remember if I asked this, but can you quickly knock up the ability to "move" the HUD elements?

What I mean is that, at present we can scale them (though by the way, the target reticule ignores the scale so this needs fixing) but when I set the FOV and aspect ratio correct for VR, the HUD is too "Tall" with a big central gap between the top row and bottom row.
By the time I scale to see both rows in my center vision, they are too small to read in the horizontal.

What I would like to do is set my scale as-is, but then add say 200px to the top row and -200px to the bottom row to bring the HUD into a nice square in the middle of my vision.

Trev

User avatar
blue_max
Lieutenant Commander
XWAU Member
Posts: 1319
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2019 5:12 am

Post by blue_max » Tue Dec 31, 2019 5:26 pm

Hello Trevor.

The HUD elements can already be moved around with the Dynamic Cockpit. I put some (commented out) examples in dynamic_cockpit.cfg:

Code: Select all

; The format is:
; move_region = <REGION-NAME>, x0, y0, x1, y1
; Coordinates are normalized to the range 0..1, (0,0) is the top-left corner of your
; screen, (1,1) is the bottom-right corner. See the end of this document of valid
; HUD region names. You can only have a maximum of 8 move_region commands.

;move_region = LEFT_SENSOR_REGION, 0.15,-0.01,  0.35,0.24
;move_region = RIGHT_SENSOR_REGION, 0.65,-0.01,  0.85,0.24
If you can do a mock-up of what you're trying to do, I can provide a sample file for it.

User avatar
Trevor
Ensign
Posts: 420
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2014 7:11 pm

Post by Trevor » Tue Dec 31, 2019 7:29 pm

Doesn't work for me. I changed the Y values but nothing updated.

When I enabled Dynamic Cockpit (Which I don't want yet) the HUD disappeared and the cockpit had huge holes in it.

This is what I have and want
HUD Position.png
Trev
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
blue_max
Lieutenant Commander
XWAU Member
Posts: 1319
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2019 5:12 am

Post by blue_max » Tue Dec 31, 2019 8:36 pm

Alright, let me take a look at what's going on. There's probably a bug in there somewhere.

User avatar
blue_max
Lieutenant Commander
XWAU Member
Posts: 1319
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2019 5:12 am

Post by blue_max » Thu Jan 02, 2020 1:16 am

Trevor wrote:
Tue Dec 31, 2019 7:29 pm
Doesn't work for me. I changed the Y values but nothing updated.
There were a couple of bugs that prevented the move_region commands from getting applied. I've fixed them and I also provided a sample "Dynamic_Cockpit.cfg" file that approximates what you requested. This is what it looks like in SteamVR:
move_regions_SteamVR.jpg
However, I forgot to tell you to remove the "erase_region" commands from the XwingCockpit.dc file. Otherwise, the move_region commands won't take effect because the regions are being erased. So, either remove the "erase_region" commands from XwingCockpit.dc or rename this file. You can download the ddraw with these fixes here:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/2vl1yrmbfgskp ... w.zip?dl=0

I'm sure you'll want to further tweak the move_region commands in the Dynamic_Cockpit.cfg file. To apply the changes, save the Dynamic_Cockpit.cfg file and then just press Ctrl+Alt+L while flying -- no need to restart the mission/game.

One more thing, as per our prevous PM discussion, I've inverted the Z-axis for positional tracking so all multipliers should be positive now.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
blue_max
Lieutenant Commander
XWAU Member
Posts: 1319
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2019 5:12 am

Post by blue_max » Thu Jan 02, 2020 5:02 am

rogue518 wrote:
Fri Dec 27, 2019 3:09 pm
Spyder's X-wing... there are no HUD's at all, which is strange
I just figured this out: I've got instructions in XwingCockpit.dc to erase the HUD! So, either remove these instructions when using Spyder's cockpit (remove all the "erase_region" commands in XwingCockpit.dc) or just rename XwingCockpit.dc to something else so that the Dynamic Cockpit can't load it.

User avatar
rogue518
Commander
XWAU Member
Posts: 2268
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2000 11:01 pm
Contact:

Post by rogue518 » Thu Jan 02, 2020 4:28 pm

Ok... thanks blue_max for the info.... :D

Sincerely, Rogue518
'Stay in Attack formation!' Darth Vader aka: Anakin Skywalker During the 'Battle Of Yavin'

User avatar
ual002
Lieutenant
XWAU Member
Posts: 810
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2008 2:23 am

Post by ual002 » Thu Jan 02, 2020 6:28 pm

Just had a thought... I wonder if any of the original devs of this game have seen this and are at all as impressed as I am with how the community is coming together after so many years. It still boggles my mind track IR and dynamic cockpit elements are even a thing. I was floored enough when Jeremy figured out the s-foils hook...
Image Image Image Image Image

Post Reply