New effects and installers

All the XWAU recent release news from the project can be found here
Post Reply

Re: New effects and installers

Ldebroy
Recruit
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2020 2:07 am

Post by Ldebroy » Fri Apr 10, 2020 10:14 pm

JeremyaFr wrote:
Fri Apr 10, 2020 8:40 am
Ldebroy wrote:
Fri Apr 10, 2020 3:05 am
the game is been displayed on a 4:3 format, not widescreen 16:9 as before. Do you know how can I resolve this issue?
Check the DDraw.cfg file. There is a setting to preserve or not the aspect ratio.

Code: Select all

; PreserveAspectRatio = 0 (no) or 1 (yes)
; When set to 0, the display will be stretched.
; When set to 1, the aspect ratio will be preserved.
PreserveAspectRatio = 1
Open DDraw.cfg with notepad
and change the bottom


From PreserveAspectRatio = 1 to PreserveAspectRatio = 0
Excelent! Thanks, now i can see it widescreen

RichSC21
Recruit
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2020 9:04 pm

Post by RichSC21 » Fri Apr 10, 2020 11:40 pm

Hey there,
Just wanted to say thanks a lot for this new upgrade. I was thinking of digging out XWA for quite awhile last weekend, so this came at a really good time.

I've been playing on Steam VR with an HTC Vive at 1600x900, and it's a JOY, honestly a wonderful experience - the pixelated graphics remind me a lot of the old model 3 Star Wars Arcade machine, but the added shaders really make up for it and make it feel very real. Kudos to all involved, it's a real achievement!

Couple of questions -
I've been tinkering with the VR rendering options to try and make the whole thing more comfortable. Are the default settings already reasonably optimised? Will optimisation differ between headers and would future releases have pre-optimised settings for any given headset?
The difference between the location of the crosshair between my left/right eye is quite distinct, making aiming a little bit of a hit or miss affair - is this based on the location of my head?

User avatar
blue_max
Lieutenant Commander
XWAU Member
Posts: 1427
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2019 5:12 am

Post by blue_max » Sat Apr 11, 2020 12:02 am

Hello RichSC21 and thanks for your comments!

The SteamVR settings are not optimized at all. In fact, I encourage you to share your settings on this thread: https://xwaupgrade.com/phpBB3/viewtopic ... 33&t=12166 once you find something that feels optimized. We'll try to build a database of settings so that this becomes easier in the future.

You can place the crosshairs at any depth you want. You can go to VRParams.cfg and change the "HUD_depth" setting (I know, poor name, it's not the whole HUD, just the aiming reticle). It's in meters from your head. To reapply the settings, just press Ctrl+Alt+L while flying.

User avatar
blue_max
Lieutenant Commander
XWAU Member
Posts: 1427
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2019 5:12 am

Post by blue_max » Sat Apr 11, 2020 12:10 am

Alright, in the spirit of posting all the updates on the same thread, here's the next preview. You'll need to install 1.1.2 and then replace the old ddraw.dll with the following (make a backup first!). Again, this is a preview, so there might be bugs:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/79dpfkteokaxh ... 0.dll?dl=0

I've added the following parameters to SSAO.cfg to customize the lights:

; XWA lights saturation.
; 1: Original saturation
; 0: All lights become grayscale
xwa_lights_saturation = 0.8

; Intensity multiplier: if the lights seem to dark, you can increase their power
; by setting the following above 1. Setting it to 0 will shut down the lights.
; Do not set it too far above 1 or you'll overexpose the render
xwa_lights_global_intensity = 1.0

User avatar
haui
Cadet 2nd Class
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon Apr 15, 2019 9:29 am
Contact:

Post by haui » Sat Apr 11, 2020 5:20 am

Thats magic what you guys are doing
It's better to burn out than to fade away .

marcop000
Cadet 2nd Class
Posts: 82
Joined: Fri Dec 27, 2019 7:08 pm

Post by marcop000 » Sat Apr 11, 2020 11:13 am

JeremyaFr wrote:
Fri Apr 10, 2020 6:50 pm
DTM wrote:
Thu Apr 09, 2020 6:46 am
Try lowering the resolution. XWA is an excellent game even at the resolution of 1600x900. In fact, the game engine isn't made to work at very high resolutions.
Is this related to the Windows DPI setting?
Hi JeremyaFr,

The DPI is 100% as default, the resolution (windows and game setting) is native 1920x1080 like my default monitor setting.

The only difference is the language that is Italian and not English, I don't know if depend by this.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
rogue518
Commander
XWAU Member
Posts: 2325
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2000 11:01 pm
Contact:

Post by rogue518 » Sun Apr 12, 2020 2:27 pm

Blue_Max , Curious...not trying to get off topic but can I use this awesome Xwing Cockpit for Spyder's Xwing?

Sincerely, Rogue518
'Stay in Attack formation!' Darth Vader aka: Anakin Skywalker During the 'Battle Of Yavin'

User avatar
Darksaber
Vice Admiral
Posts: 10932
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2000 12:01 am
Contact:

Post by Darksaber » Sun Apr 12, 2020 3:09 pm

I doubt it, Spyders Xwing with have different rotating meshes on his xwing, the 2 will conflict with each other, you'll have bits rotating that you don't want to rotate :D
“You can please some of the people all of the time, you can please all of the people some of the time, but you can’t please all of the people all of the time”.”
- John Lydgate

Good Things Come To Those Who Wait....
Darksaber's X-Wing Station

User avatar
rogue518
Commander
XWAU Member
Posts: 2325
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2000 11:01 pm
Contact:

Post by rogue518 » Sun Apr 12, 2020 4:23 pm

Thanks Darksaber, for the responce.... I didn't think so, I was just curious. I've been using the DSUCP's Red5 Xwing with this enchanced XwingCockpit of your model.... ;)

Sincerely, Rogue518
'Stay in Attack formation!' Darth Vader aka: Anakin Skywalker During the 'Battle Of Yavin'

stafdady
Cadet 4th Class
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2011 3:21 am

Post by stafdady » Sun Apr 12, 2020 8:38 pm

I have the upgrade 1.6 and the Dynamic Cockpits, which look great!
BUT, when I install the new Effects, the game won't launch. I get the following..

Device:Intialize
The parameter is incorrect

Then,

X-wing Alliance
Direct Draw Int Failed at 0

I uninstall the Effects and the game works again. Any ideas?

Tony Knightcrawler
Commander
Posts: 2245
Joined: Sat Nov 29, 2003 12:01 am
Contact:

Post by Tony Knightcrawler » Sun Apr 12, 2020 9:20 pm

I was just thinking... with all these incredible new hackers working on the game, would it be possible to make a new keybind for a second animation? Specifically for landing gear. With the S-Foils restrictions being defeated, a lot of ships can now have landing gear. But the ships that have S-Foils now lower their landing gear whenever they close them, like going into hyperspace, right? I know you guys somehow managed to insert a new keybind for SLAMS. I guess the downside to this request is that ships in the hangar probably wouldn't have their landing gear down, huh? I wonder if there's also a way to get ships that are docking with other stuff to lower their landing gear...

User avatar
Ace Antilles

Admiral (Moderator)
Posts: 4995
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2000 12:01 am
Contact:

Post by Ace Antilles » Sun Apr 12, 2020 9:26 pm

There's talk in another thread of this, about S foils I think. Not being able to jump to hyperspace with landing gear down for example
Chief XWAU Team annoying nitpicker.
Ace Antilles - The X-Wing Outpost
Image

User avatar
Vince T

Fleet Admiral (Administrator)
Posts: 13100
Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2001 11:01 pm
Contact:

Post by Vince T » Sun Apr 12, 2020 10:12 pm

Thanks to Jeremy landing gear already has its own keybind. CTRL+L - and much, much more
See this thread: viewtopic.php?f=33&t=11693
Your ship, Captain. I need a drink. - Vince Trageton

Tony Knightcrawler
Commander
Posts: 2245
Joined: Sat Nov 29, 2003 12:01 am
Contact:

Post by Tony Knightcrawler » Mon Apr 13, 2020 3:58 am

Wow, even that is already done? Insane.

User avatar
JeremyaFr
Commander
XWAU Member
Posts: 2744
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 5:52 pm
Contact:

Post by JeremyaFr » Mon Apr 13, 2020 11:43 am

stafdady wrote:
Sun Apr 12, 2020 8:38 pm
Device:Intialize
The parameter is incorrect
Direct Draw Int Failed at 0
Hello,

What is your system specs?

Does your graphics card support DirectX 11?

stafdady
Cadet 4th Class
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2011 3:21 am

Post by stafdady » Mon Apr 13, 2020 12:55 pm

JeremyaFr wrote:
Mon Apr 13, 2020 11:43 am
stafdady wrote:
Sun Apr 12, 2020 8:38 pm
Device:Intialize
The parameter is incorrect
Direct Draw Int Failed at 0
Hello,

What is your system specs?

Does your graphics card support DirectX 11?
Yes, I have DirextX 12.
Windows 10 and using Steam version of the game. NVIDIA GeForce 9400

User avatar
JeremyaFr
Commander
XWAU Member
Posts: 2744
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 5:52 pm
Contact:

Post by JeremyaFr » Mon Apr 13, 2020 1:17 pm

Hello,

For now, blue_max's new effects require Shader Model 5.0 and Feature Level 11.

According to this page:
NVIDIA GeForce 9400

It seems that your card supports only Shader Model 4.0 and Feature Level 10.

That's why the initialization of the device has failed.

stafdady
Cadet 4th Class
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2011 3:21 am

Post by stafdady » Mon Apr 13, 2020 1:30 pm

Well that sucks. Lol. Thanks for the info! It was driving me nuts. I should really get an upgrade..

User avatar
Trevor
Ensign
Posts: 466
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2014 7:11 pm

Post by Trevor » Tue Apr 14, 2020 10:37 am

What we need then is a way to fail gracefully rather than CTD.

There must surely be a way to check the Graphics capabilities on start and then disable features unsupported?

like

Code: Select all

If gfx.shaderlevel >= 5 then SSDO.enabled = readcfg("SSAO.cfg", "SSDO enabled") else SSDO.enabled = false
Trev

User avatar
XDragon
Cadet 1st Class
Posts: 114
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 12:01 am
Contact:

Post by XDragon » Tue Apr 14, 2020 2:27 pm

Do you need the new effects to make the cockpits work? I've tried installing with the no HUD option but the HUD stays on and the displays on the cockpit don't work. Like Stafday, my graphics card can't support Shader Model 5.0 so I can't install that.

Also, it seems if i have the new cockpits installed I can launch Skirmish missions fine but trying to load a campaign mission crashes back to the desktop.

graphics card: AMD HD 3000 Series
Windows 10 64
8 gb ram

I'm guessing my graphics card can't handle this. Damn shame because those cockpits looks amazing
Founder of Z3R0 (Zero Command)
https://xdragon2688.wixsite.com/z3ro/

User avatar
blue_max
Lieutenant Commander
XWAU Member
Posts: 1427
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2019 5:12 am

Post by blue_max » Wed Apr 15, 2020 7:04 pm

Trevor wrote:
Tue Apr 14, 2020 10:37 am
There must surely be a way to check the Graphics capabilities on start and then disable features unsupported?
All the shaders in the new effects are compiled with Shader Model 5, so nothing would work if this feature set isn't supported.

@XDragon: The new cockpits are independent of the new effects; but the HUD-in-the-cockpit only works if you have the new effects installed.

I'll try to downgrade the shader model of the new effects so that more people can use them; but I can't make any promises here :)

User avatar
blue_max
Lieutenant Commander
XWAU Member
Posts: 1427
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2019 5:12 am

Post by blue_max » Wed Apr 15, 2020 9:06 pm

I'll try to downgrade the shader model of the new effects so that more people can use them; but I can't make any promises here :)
Looks like all the shaders work well on Shader Model 4.0.

@stafdady, @XDragon: Please replace your ddraw.dll with the following version and try again:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/7t3rwuecamvr4 ... 0.dll?dl=0

Also new in this version: support for Jeremy's Text Renderer and Increased brightness for DC elements.

User avatar
Ace Antilles

Admiral (Moderator)
Posts: 4995
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2000 12:01 am
Contact:

Post by Ace Antilles » Wed Apr 15, 2020 9:47 pm

Maybe not the right place to ask but is there a simple way to toggle between the 2 Hyperspace effects?
Without running the installers again that is. I want to see which I prefer easily.
Chief XWAU Team annoying nitpicker.
Ace Antilles - The X-Wing Outpost
Image

User avatar
blue_max
Lieutenant Commander
XWAU Member
Posts: 1427
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2019 5:12 am

Post by blue_max » Wed Apr 15, 2020 10:01 pm

Ace Antilles wrote:
Wed Apr 15, 2020 9:47 pm
Maybe not the right place to ask but is there a simple way to toggle between the 2 Hyperspace effects?
That's the one effect I didn't make a toggle switch for, sorry! If you want to see the old hyperspace effect, you'll need to use Jeremy's ddraw. Just swap the DLLs, that's all you need to do.

BadWookiee
Recruit
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2020 10:18 pm

Post by BadWookiee » Wed Apr 15, 2020 10:22 pm

Hello everyone!

I am new here but I do have a question regarding the newest effects and shaders. If this has been answered already I do apologize but, I was wondering if there is a remedy for the massive drop in FPS when utilizing this update? Are there steps in place to improve performance?

Post Reply