New effects and installers

All the XWAU recent release news from the project can be found here
Post Reply

Re: New effects and installers

User avatar
blue_max
Lieutenant Commander
XWAU Member
Posts: 1425
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2019 5:12 am

Post by blue_max » Mon Apr 20, 2020 5:35 pm

Ace Antilles wrote:
Mon Apr 20, 2020 5:26 pm
Is the "bloom" the yellow circle areas which come out the ship when it's being shot on?
I'm not sure what you're referring to here; but one easy way to toggle the bloom effect is by pressing Ctrl+Alt+A. So you can check if the removing the bloom will help or not.

User avatar
Darksaber
Vice Admiral
Posts: 10932
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2000 12:01 am
Contact:

Post by Darksaber » Mon Apr 20, 2020 8:25 pm

Ace I think you talking about impact hits, you must be firing yellow lasers, unless you've change something in the craft ini files
“You can please some of the people all of the time, you can please all of the people some of the time, but you can’t please all of the people all of the time”.”
- John Lydgate

Good Things Come To Those Who Wait....
Darksaber's X-Wing Station

User avatar
Ace Antilles

Admiral (Moderator)
Posts: 4980
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2000 12:01 am
Contact:

Post by Ace Antilles » Mon Apr 20, 2020 9:04 pm

Darksaber wrote:
Mon Apr 20, 2020 8:25 pm
Ace I think you talking about impact hits, you must be firing yellow lasers, unless you've change something in the craft ini files
Yeah that's it. Terrible about descriptions lol
No firing red lasers. TBF I was shooting a lot at Rings but it happens when things explode too.
I think it's just something new I'm getting used to that wasn't there before. If I'm not right up close than it's not going to be an issue.
Chief XWAU Team annoying nitpicker.
Ace Antilles - The X-Wing Outpost
Image

Commander_Camm
Recruit
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2014 4:46 pm

Post by Commander_Camm » Fri Apr 24, 2020 12:59 am

First of all, Wow! And second of all, WOW!! I tip my hat to all involved in this project. I have deleted all of my old pilots and I'm starting over. Can't wait to see all the upgrades and featured effects! Bravo!

User avatar
keiranhalcyon7
Lieutenant JG
Posts: 584
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2018 6:41 am

Post by keiranhalcyon7 » Fri Apr 24, 2020 6:21 am

Documentation bug: The dynamic cockpits installer exe is called v1.1, but the program itself reports v1.0 during installation.

User avatar
Phoenix Leader
Ensign
Rebel Alliance
Posts: 437
Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2018 2:20 pm

Post by Phoenix Leader » Tue Apr 28, 2020 3:42 am

Amazing job everyone!

stafdady
Cadet 4th Class
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2011 3:21 am

Post by stafdady » Sat May 02, 2020 2:18 pm

I have one more question, after installing everything and the new effects, the text in the HUD is so small it's hard to read what I need to know for the missions. Is there a way to adjust that??

korekwerner
Cadet 1st Class
Posts: 129
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2019 7:04 pm

Post by korekwerner » Sat May 02, 2020 10:03 pm

stafdady wrote:
Sat May 02, 2020 2:18 pm
I have one more question, after installing everything and the new effects, the text in the HUD is so small it's hard to read what I need to know for the missions. Is there a way to adjust that??
You can change font in the ddraw.cfg file for a clearer picture.

stafdady
Cadet 4th Class
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2011 3:21 am

Post by stafdady » Sun May 03, 2020 12:32 am

Ok I'll take a look. Thanks!

stafdady
Cadet 4th Class
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2011 3:21 am

Post by stafdady » Sun May 03, 2020 12:40 am

korekwerner wrote:
Sat May 02, 2020 10:03 pm
stafdady wrote:
Sat May 02, 2020 2:18 pm
I have one more question, after installing everything and the new effects, the text in the HUD is so small it's hard to read what I need to know for the missions. Is there a way to adjust that??
You can change font in the ddraw.cfg file for a clearer picture.
Ok, let's pretend I know nothing about DDraw and config files, well, because I don't. I looked at it and didn't see anything about font. What am I missing here? And thanks for the input, the help is appreciated.

User avatar
Ace Antilles

Admiral (Moderator)
Posts: 4980
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2000 12:01 am
Contact:

Post by Ace Antilles » Sun May 03, 2020 12:58 am

stafdady wrote:
Sun May 03, 2020 12:40 am
Ok, let's pretend I know nothing about DDraw and config files, well, because I don't. I looked at it and didn't see anything about font. What am I missing here? And thanks for the input, the help is appreciated.
Check out this thread for things to improve the text in the readouts on either side of the HUD. Messages, commands etc. Even custom fonts.
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=12485

For text on the actual 3D cockpits itself I don't think there's much you can do.
Chief XWAU Team annoying nitpicker.
Ace Antilles - The X-Wing Outpost
Image

User avatar
Alaska Works
Recruit
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Jul 30, 2017 12:03 am

Post by Alaska Works » Mon May 04, 2020 1:55 am

First off, incredible work! Seriously. I am so impressed by what you've achieved. The lighting looks so nice.

If I fly away from a capital ship that is firing lasers, I tend to get this flashing lighting corruption. See attachment. Anything I can fix on my end or is it a bug or....?

Thanks!
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Ace Antilles

Admiral (Moderator)
Posts: 4980
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2000 12:01 am
Contact:

Post by Ace Antilles » Mon May 04, 2020 2:40 pm

EFFECTS V.1.1.3. By Blue Max.

With this evolution of the patch, the lights of the new shading system are connected to the mission's light sources. It seems like a small detail, but in reality, it is a great success obtained by our talented Blue Max! Also many other improvements, all to be discovered, such as the new lens effects and the new suns.

Image

Available now from the Download page!
May the 4th Be With You!
Chief XWAU Team annoying nitpicker.
Ace Antilles - The X-Wing Outpost
Image

User avatar
Jaeven
Lieutenant JG
XWAU Member
Posts: 570
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2015 3:18 am

Post by Jaeven » Mon May 04, 2020 3:35 pm

Stunning. Great work, Blue_Max!

User avatar
Ace Antilles

Admiral (Moderator)
Posts: 4980
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2000 12:01 am
Contact:

Post by Ace Antilles » Mon May 04, 2020 3:38 pm

Alaska Works wrote:
Mon May 04, 2020 1:55 am
First off, incredible work! Seriously. I am so impressed by what you've achieved. The lighting looks so nice.
If I fly away from a capital ship that is firing lasers, I tend to get this flashing lighting corruption. See attachment. Anything I can fix on my end or is it a bug or....?

Thanks!
Install the latest update that came out today and see what happens now :)
Chief XWAU Team annoying nitpicker.
Ace Antilles - The X-Wing Outpost
Image

User avatar
blue_max
Lieutenant Commander
XWAU Member
Posts: 1425
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2019 5:12 am

Post by blue_max » Mon May 04, 2020 5:50 pm

Alaska Works wrote:
Mon May 04, 2020 1:55 am
If I fly away from a capital ship that is firing lasers, I tend to get this flashing lighting corruption. See attachment. Anything I can fix on my end or is it a bug or....?
Like Ace said, try the latest version (1.1.3) and see if that helps. If not, try setting "enable_laser_lights = 0" in SSAO.cfg. Does it happen all the time or just in certain places?

User avatar
Alaska Works
Recruit
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Jul 30, 2017 12:03 am

Post by Alaska Works » Tue May 05, 2020 12:07 am

blue_max wrote:
Mon May 04, 2020 5:50 pm
Like Ace said, try the latest version (1.1.3) and see if that helps. If not, try setting "enable_laser_lights = 0" in SSAO.cfg. Does it happen all the time or just in certain places?
Upgrading to 1.1.3 did not help. But setting "enable_laser_lights = 0" did resolve it, although of course now I don't get the sweet laser lighting effects. I've had this installation of XWA for some time. Previously I was using Reshade with it, but I've since deleted the files associated with it. Maybe something left over from something earlier is causing it?

I'll clarify that this "maxed out" lighting corruption from laser flashes only happens in the thick of things. I've set up a 1km engagement between an ISD, several other frigrates/capital ships, and loads of TIEs roaming about. So there are lots of lasers shooting about.

I'll note that I have the XWA upgrade pack configured with the turbolasers on. The turbolasers do seem to cause it, so maybe that's part of the problem...

Here's a video showing the issue, after turning enable_laser_lights back on. Warning: Flashing lights!
https://youtu.be/qHOTpluw2PQ

User avatar
Ace Antilles

Admiral (Moderator)
Posts: 4980
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2000 12:01 am
Contact:

Post by Ace Antilles » Tue May 05, 2020 1:04 am

Alaska Works wrote:
Tue May 05, 2020 12:07 am
Upgrading to 1.1.3 did not help. But setting "enable_laser_lights = 0" did resolve it, although of course now I don't get the sweet laser lighting effects. I've had this installation of XWA for some time. Previously I was using Reshade with it, but I've since deleted the files associated with it. Maybe something left over from something earlier is causing it?
Sometimes you are better off just starting over. I've had issues before and it can be a needle in a haystack.
Make a copy of your game folder. Reinstall the game and start over and work up until you find the issue. You can keep "good" copy folders as you go if necessary.
The XWA Backup Restorer is a great tool to help also.
Chief XWAU Team annoying nitpicker.
Ace Antilles - The X-Wing Outpost
Image

User avatar
blue_max
Lieutenant Commander
XWAU Member
Posts: 1425
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2019 5:12 am

Post by blue_max » Tue May 05, 2020 1:15 am

Alaska Works wrote:
Tue May 05, 2020 12:07 am
Here's a video showing the issue, after turning enable_laser_lights back on. Warning: Flashing lights!
Yeah, that's a bit excessive. I would probably think that you were under very heavy fire, but that doesn't seem to be the case: only lasers that are visible on-screen will be considered for the flashing lights, and I didn't really see that many to be honest. You were also not being hit as I didn't see the shields indicator change at all.

I'll see if I can reproduce this issue on my end.

User avatar
keiranhalcyon7
Lieutenant JG
Posts: 584
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2018 6:41 am

Post by keiranhalcyon7 » Tue May 05, 2020 1:39 am

Whoa! That reminds me of the Star Wars disco track.

User avatar
AngeI
Cadet 1st Class
Posts: 161
Joined: Sun Jan 24, 2016 5:27 pm

Post by AngeI » Tue May 05, 2020 11:23 am

Continuing to all look amazing Bluemax! However since I installed 1.1.3, it looks to me like all the ships have very even lighting, as if there's no actual shading going on. Is this a ddraw.dll issue?
Desktop Screenshot 2020.05.05 - 14.38.38.03.png
Desktop Screenshot 2020.05.05 - 14.39.01.90.png
Desktop Screenshot 2020.05.05 - 14.39.10.82.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
AngeI
Cadet 1st Class
Posts: 161
Joined: Sun Jan 24, 2016 5:27 pm

Post by AngeI » Tue May 05, 2020 4:32 pm

Incidentially, I seem to be getting large FPS stutter drops now, even with not too many ships on the screen. Trying to narrow down what that might be.

User avatar
Vince T

Fleet Admiral (Administrator)
Posts: 13089
Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2001 11:01 pm
Contact:

Post by Vince T » Tue May 05, 2020 4:34 pm

Do you by chance get the stutter when targeting the new VSD? If yes, you may want to re-download and install it, as a fix from late May 4 added a mechanic that loads the LOD into the CMD rather than the full detail model.
Your ship, Captain. I need a drink. - Vince Trageton

User avatar
AngeI
Cadet 1st Class
Posts: 161
Joined: Sun Jan 24, 2016 5:27 pm

Post by AngeI » Tue May 05, 2020 5:25 pm

General_Trageton wrote:
Tue May 05, 2020 4:34 pm
Do you by chance get the stutter when targeting the new VSD? If yes, you may want to re-download and install it, as a fix from late May 4 added a mechanic that loads the LOD into the CMD rather than the full detail model.
I did get it worse with the new VSD yes so put the older model back in, but still I get some stutter. I wondered if its the new Dynamic Cockpits. Turning off the cockpit inertia/movement seemed to help a little but still noticeably low FPS.

User avatar
Trevor
Ensign
Posts: 465
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2014 7:11 pm

Post by Trevor » Tue May 05, 2020 5:41 pm

However since I installed 1.1.3, it looks to me like all the ships have very even lighting, as if there's no actual shading going on. Is this a ddraw.dll issue?
I too seem to have flat shading.

my ssao.cfg

Code: Select all

ssao_enabled = 1
disable_xwa_diffuse = 1
ssao_type = Directional
samples = 128
max_dist = 10000
bias = 0.05
intensity = .5
power = 1
black_level = 0.00
near_sample_radius = 0.00015625
far_sample_radius = 0.00015625
perspective_correct = 0
ssao_buffer_scale_divisor = 1
enable_blur = 0
blur_passes = 1
enable_dual_ssao = 0
alpha_to_solid_offset = 0.5
enable_indirect_ssdo = 1
indirect_intensity = 1.0
moire_offset = 0.00
normal_mapping_enable = 1
nm_intensity_near = 1.0
nm_intensity_far  = 1.0
nm_scale = 0.02
specular_intensity = 0.5
specular_bloom_intensity = 1.2
glossiness = 128.0
bloom_glossiness_multiplier = 3.0 
lightness_boost  = 8.0
saturation_boost = 1.0
xwa_lights_saturation = 1.0
xwa_lights_global_intensity = 1.0
procedural_suns = 1
flare_intensity = 3
enable_laser_lights = 1
laser_light_intensity = 1.0
ssdo_ambient = 0.05
Trev

Post Reply